University Police

Contact: 812-237-5555

Polar Plunge makes a splash

assist chief

 

The Terre Haute community made a huge splash at the 8th annual Polar Plunge at Indiana State University sponsored by Alpha Sigma Alpha and the Special Olympics.

Near 233 participants were “Freezin’ for a Reason” and made the icy plunge in support of Special Olympics at 10 a.m. on Feb 27, 2015, raising a record shattering $45,525.60.

For the past eight years Alpha Sigma Alpha has sponsored the Polar Plunge at ISU to raise funds for more than 11,000 children and adults with intellectual disabilities both local and across the state.

“One of Alpha Sigma Alpha’s big philanthropies is Special Olympics and supporting the athletes,” Kayla Lindsay, Alpha Sigma Alpha’s president, said. “We do it year around, and we really like to work hands on with our philanthropies, so this gives us an opportunity to work hands on.”

The Special Olympics is the largest public health organization globally that is dedicated to helping those with disabilities. The Polar Plunge not only raises awareness about intellectual disabilities but also raises money. It has raised more than $3.4 million alone, making it the state’s largest fundraiser for Special Olympics.

Accompanying the plunge were various contests, which included a costume contest, largest group, most money raised by a group, and most money raised individually. Costumes ranged from Breaking Ice (Breaking Bad) to Shark Week, but the thrilling costumes of the Plunging Dead, a group of zombies, took home the prize.

The largest group prize was taken home by the event sponsors Alpha Sigma Alpha. 65 women from Alpha Sigma Alpha plunged into the freezing water and brought in the proceeds of approximately $8,000.

“I’m really proud of our members for raising so much money this year,” Lindsay said. “It just goes to show that we are passionate about helping Special Olympic athletes compete, and we like making a difference, and this is one way that we can do that.”

While Alpha Sigma Alpha did bring in the most numbers, the Green County Popsicles brought in the most donations. For this plunge the Green County Popsicles raised $8,453. Participants must raise a minimum of $75 ($50 minimum for students with a student I.D.) to take the plunge. Linda Bedwell, a member of the Green County Popsicles, took home the prize for most money raised for the third year in a row.

“You can’t go wrong doing this,” Bedwell said. “That’s what I tell people when they donate; it’s just a blessing.”

Participants decide to take the plunge for a myriad of reasons. Abigail Niepagen, a sophomore and Alpha Sigma Alpha participant says she has done a lot with them.

“I hold the Special Olympics near and dear to my heart,” Niepagen said.

Another participant, Caitlin Emmons of the Green County Popsicles, says she does it because she “love(s) supporting and helping people who cannot do certain things themselves.” Others, like Bedwell, simply “do it for the kids,” and love getting to work “hands on” with them.

The Polar Plunge is a widely known for being a hands-on philanthropy. Unlike many other philanthropies, in the end you get to actually see where the money you have donated is going. Donations go to supporting Special Olympic programs, supporting families, and much more.

“It’s really awesome when you can actually see your time and your money changing people’s lives whether that’s through Special Olympic athletes or any of the other philanthropies that we participate in,” Lindsay said. “Knowing that what we are doing is actually making a difference and being able to see that play out is really rewarding.”

Merriam Webster dictionary defines philanthropy as “the practice of giving money and time to help make life better for other people,” but to some who participated in the Polar Plunge this definition does not come close to being even just the tip of the iceberg. Niepagen defines philanthropy as “getting involved in something bigger than yourself.” Anita Bean, volunteer area director for the Special Olympics, agrees with Niepagen. “You should always give yourself to help others, it makes my life better to help others.”

If you are looking to “get involved in something bigger than yourself,” and help raise awareness for Special Olympics, you can visit their website at www.specialolympics.org/donate-to-charity to donate. Special Olympics is a nonprofit organization and receives no federal or state funds and relies entirely on civic and private donations and fundraising, like the Polar Plunge, to support our athletes; every penny counts.

The Special Olympic oath is “Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in the attempt.” Those who faced the freezing waters of the Polar Plunge have proven to be brave, and like our athletes, those who donate are winners too.

“Thank you to everyone who donated,” Bedwell said, “because I’m just the go-between, and those who donate are the real winners.”

 

 

 

About Us

Indiana State University maintains a 24-hour Public Safety operation located at 210 N. 6th Street between Erickson and Pickerl Halls. The Public Safety Department has 25 full-time police officers. Police Officers employed by the Public Safety Department exercise full police authority and enforce federal and state laws, as well as University policies. Our police officers are appointed under the statutes of the State of Indiana with full police power both on and off campus properties, and are available 24 hours a day throughout the year. The Public Safety Department maintains a strong working relationship with other university police agencies and local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies.

Staff Directory

The Department is divided into the following divisions:

Administration Division

     
Joseph Newport Chief of Police Joseph.Newport@indstate.edu
Michele Barrett Assistant Chief of Police Michele.Barrett@indstate.edu
Ian Loomis Captain Ian.Loomis@indstate.edu
Jeff Bellinger Lieutenant Jeff.Bellinger@indstate.edu
David Smith Lieutenant David.Smith@indstate.edu
Tamara Watts Clery Compliance Lieutenant Tamara.Watts@indstate.edu
Tammy Hurst Assistant to Chief of Police Tammy.Hurst@indstate.edu

Parking Services Division

Lori Elkins Asst. Director/Parking Services Lori.Elkins@Indstate.edu
Karen James Parking Coordinator Karen.James@indstate.edu
Chris Pine Parking Services Asst. CPine@indstate.edu

Patrol Division

Brenda Edington Sergeant Brenda.Edington@indstate.edu
Jacquelyn Smith Sergeant/Bike Patrol Jacquelyn.Smith@indstate.edu
Brent Denny Sergeant Brent.Denny@indstate.edu
Brian Pierce Corporal Brian.Pierce@indstate.edu
Austin Wolfe Officer Austin.Wolfe@indstate.edu
     
Michael Eldred Officer Mike.Eldred@indstate.edu
Joshua Clifford Officer Joshua.Clifford@indstate.edu
Jeffrey Bucklin Officer Jeffrey.Bucklin@indstate.edu
David Barber Officer David.Barber@indstate.edu
Christopher Heleine Officer Christopher.Heleine@indstate.edu
Daniel Parmer Corporal Daniel.Parmer@indstate.edu
Michael Colson Officer Michael.Colson@Indstate.edu
Andrew Piske Officer Andrew.Piske@indstate.edu
Craig Wright Officer Craig.Wright@indstate.edu
Jordan Gentry Officer Jordan.Gentry@indstate.edu
Jeffery Stinson Officer/Bike Patrol Jeffery.Stinson@indstate.edu
Jeffery Bucklin Officer Jeffery.Bucklin@indstate.edu
Aaron Sloan Officer Aaron.Sloan@indstate.edu
Samuel Might Officer Samuel.Might@indstate.edu
Thierno Diallo Officer Thierno.Diallo@indstate.edu

Bike Patrol

David Smith Lieutenant/Bike Patrol David.Smith@indstate.edu
Jacquelyn Smith Sergeant/Bike Patrol Jacquelyn.Smith@indstate.edu
Mike Colson Officer/Bike Patrol Michael.Colson@indstate.edu
Jeff Stinson Officer/Bike Patrol Jeffery.Stinson@indstate.edu
Chris Heleine Officer/Bike Patrol Christopher.Heleine@indstate.edu
     
David Barber Officer/Bike Patrol David.Barber@indstate.edu

Investigations/Records Division

David Smith Lieutenant David.Smith@indstate.edu
Wendell McCollough Sergeant Dell.McCollough@indstate.edu
Teresa Evans Records Clerk Teresa.Evans@indstate.edu

Communications Division

Jeff Bellinger Lieutenant Jeff.Bellinger@indstate.edu
Tonia Tucker Dispatch Coordinator Tonia.Tucker@indstate.edu
Gloria Ighile Communications Officer Gloria.Ighile@indstate.edu
Andrew Gonthier Communications Officer Andrew.Gonthier@indstate.edu
     
Sara Loudermilk Communications Officer Sara.Loudermilk@indstate.edu

Employment
PDF Employment Information

Currently Not accepting applications

Human Resources-Employment Applicationexternal link

Citizen Complaints

It is ISU Police Department's policy to investigate all complaints against employees received from any source. The public has a right to expect efficient, fair, and impartial law enforcement. Therefore, any complaint against an employee of this department must be thoroughly investigated to assure the maintenance of these qualities. Employees too must be protected against false allegations. This can only be accomplished through a consistent and thorough investigation.

Complaints can be filed in person at the ISU Police Department, 210 N. 6th Street, Terre Haute, IN, by telephone at (812) 237-5555, or by email at Joseph.Newport@indstate.edu

Annual Security and Fire Report

The Annual Security and Fire Report is published in compliance with the Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Crime Statistics Act and the safety-related requirements of the Higher Education Opportunity Act.

The report contains information regarding campus security, crime prevention, fire safety, personal safety, policies for reporting crimes and sexual harassment. Three years' of statistics are included for certain types of crimes that were reported to have occurred on campus, or in certain off-campus buildings or property owned or controlled by ISU, and on public property within, or immediately adjacent to and accessible from the campus.

http://www.indstate.edu/pubsafety/docs/Annual Security and Fire Report 2015.pdf

If you would like to receive a hardcopy of the Annual Report you can stop by the Public Safety office at 210 N. 6th Street, Terre Haute, IN or you can request a copy be mailed to you by calling (812) 237-7829.

Rave Alert

Indiana State University employs the RAVE Emergency Text Messaging System to send text messages to subscriber cell phones and/or e-mail addresses. This system will be activated when:

  • a Tornado Warning is issued for the immediate Terre Haute area.
  • a major chemical spill occurs on or near campus.
  • a major criminal event resulting in, or having potential to result in, widespread personal injury occurs on campus.
  • the ISU campus will be closed due to a weather-related emergency.
  • a Campus Crime Alert is issued.
  • other occasions as deemed appropriate by University officials.

An “All Clear” text message will be sent when the situation has been resolved.

Any faculty member, staff member, or ISU student can sign up for this service using his or her ISU network ID and password.  More than one phone number may be added by the user, to provide ISU emergency notifications to family members or other interested parties.

Campus Security Authorities (CSA)

The Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act (the "Clery Act"), requires college and universities to compile and publish statistics on certain criminal offenses that occur on or adjacent to university properties. The Clery Act requires certain crimes reported to a Campus Security Authority (CSA) be included in those annual statistics. Therefore, CSA's must be identified and trained in their reporting responsibilities. Not properly identifying and training these individuals can cause the university to suffer significant fines and jeopardize Title IV funding.

Below are training documents for Campus Security Authorities:

Know Where to Find Emergency Information

The ISU Home Page will have the most current information in an emergency.

Sign up for isu today

Subscribe to ISU Today for daily news and information about events.